WILL PHIL TAKE TWO

Last week at Doral, Phil Mickelson experimented again with playing 2 drivers in the bag: a Callaway FT-9 Tour Authentic and a Callaway FT-5 Draw. One driver hits it lower, but not as far; the other, higher. (See David Dudek’s report.) Phil could have used 2 drivers today as he cracked his Callaway driver, but couldn’t get a replacement because the rules official said it wasn’t cracked enough. Watch the video below.

Two drivers in the bag seems one too many. But Mickelson did win the 2006 Masters with the 2-driver strategy. So who are we to question it? Lefty’s mulling using it again next week. We’ll have to see what Phil does next.